PDA

View Full Version : Basics of Hessian

goodhart
06-08-2011, 03:35 PM
I am just wanting to get a solid understanding of the value of using a Hessian server. I am not experienced network programmer, but having mainly developed standalone applications that use sockets for connection to "clients".

So far I understand Hessian is an application server. So It takes care of communication of remote procedure calls (across a network) handling the identification of methods to be called and the passing of arguments, and the returned results. Also that it uses a binary protocol.

Question: Is the following true? if you have an app that simply connects to some other app via TCP and transfers a lot of data via winsock or something similar, there certainly is no value to using a Hessian server.

As to its value over using something like tomcat or jboss, I see the following claims:

1) It is easier to use
2) The binary protocol is way smaller than other application servers that typically use SOAP, so it has smaller BW requirements. Won't the impact of that depend on what is being passed. In other words if you are passing large data payloads the lower protocol size would be less of an issue.
3) Again, because it is smaller, it footprint is more viable for small devices like cell phones etc.
3) Another claim I saw is that it compresses information before passing it so there is a BW savings there. I'm not sure if that is true or not.
4) Does it matter if your arguments and returned values are ascii or binary?

I'd be interested in any comments that help sort out my understandings.

Thank you,

Curt

ferg
06-08-2011, 05:13 PM
Hessian is a wire/serialization protocol, like SOAP or JSON. It's not an application server, but would be used in an application server (Resin or JBoss or Tomcat or PHP or .NET), although it can also be used outside of an application server.