PDA

View Full Version : Using Resin with Eclipse


nantucket
04-09-2011, 01:58 PM
Eclipse 3.6 Helios
Mac OS X 10.5.8
Resin 3.1.9
Java 6


I'd like to be able to test my web application with Resin inside of Eclipse. I've already downloaded and installed the "Resin Eclipse Feature" version 4.0.15 with Id com.caucho.resin.eclipse.feature.group. I need to use version 3.1.9 because this is what is being used on the web host.

Now I'd like to associate the Resin server with Eclipse. I select

Eclipse -> Preferences -> Server -> Runtime Environments -> Add...

And I can see the list of server types. Apache, Basic, IBM, JBoss, ObjectWeb and Oracle. I don't see an option for Resin. I understand that there should be a Resin Hot Deploy target ?

I'm following a related thread here
http://forum.caucho.com/showthread.php?t=27710

But I think this person is further along and can see an option for Resin. I can't see it. What am I missing?

Any help would be appreciated.

reza
04-13-2011, 03:35 PM
nantucket,

Is this resolved at this point?

Thanks,
Reza

nantucket
04-16-2011, 07:24 PM
Thanks for your post. My issue remains unresolved.

reza
04-18-2011, 11:00 AM
nantucket,

Can you please try a reinstall (remove and install) from http://www.caucho.com/eclipse. Keep in mind, we only support Resin 4 in Eclipse, not Resin 3. We also no longer support the hot deploy option: http://forum.caucho.com/showthread.php?t=27710.

Thanks,
Reza

nantucket
04-27-2011, 02:32 PM
I've uninstalled version 4.0.15 of the Resin Eclipse Feature and I have installed version 4.0.16. I have also obtained version 4.0.17 of Resin.

When I use Tomcat in eclipse I start by creating a server runtime environment in Eclipse Preferences. Should I do that for Resin and if so how? If not is there some other way to direct Eclipse to use Resin?

Maybe there is documentation on your site about the Resin Eclipse Feature? I'm not sure I understand what it does. Can someone point me to a link maybe to a place where I can learn more about it?

reza
04-27-2011, 04:06 PM
nantucket,

When you go to Eclipse -> Preferences -> Server -> Runtime Environments -> Add, you still don't see an option for Resin?

If that's the case, we might have a platform specific bug here.

I'm not sure when the documentation will be updated - I'll check. Generally, installing the plug-in is very straightforward (no different than Tomcat, GlassFish, etc). The only difference is that Eclipse does not ship it (we've requested that they do so we can skip the plug-in installation step altogether)

Thanks,
Reza

Resin_user
11-21-2011, 02:53 PM
Hi, I'm having the same issue. I've intalled Resin. It even shows in the already installed list in eclipse but when I try to add the server I cannot see resin. I'm using eclipse jee indigo version. Has this issue been resolved yet or is there something we can do to bypass this issue? If so, please advise.

alex
11-21-2011, 05:14 PM
What version of Resin Eclipse Plugin is this? Can you also check Eclipse's log file please.
Thanks,
Alex

alex
11-23-2011, 09:41 PM
Thanks to everyone who is using Eclipse Plugin. A snapshot of new version of Eclipse plugin is uploaded to http://www.caucho.com/eclipse-snapshot

The new version adds a configuration dialog in the "Server Overview" screen available via pressing F3 double-clicking on a server.

This is a good time to provide feedback before it is released.

Thanks,
Alex